Books

Book Tag-The Netflix Book Tag

Wow so its been a week since I posted and you guys are getting two Tag Tuesday posts in a row, sorry about that. I was really sick all last week and while I’m still not feeling 100%, I’m definitely feeling like I can be a functional human again. Similar to last week, I decided to do this tag because it combines two of my favourite things: Netflix and books. Seriously, that’s perfection! The original tag was created by A Darker Shade of Whitney, click HERE to watch her video.

Recently Watched-The last book you finished reading

Death Note Black Edition Volume 02 by Tsugumi Ohba

death note black edition volume 2

 

I just finished this manga a couple of days ago and I’m really enjoying the story. Would highly recommend if you’re interested in manga, I’ll talk more about this series in my wrap up!

 

 

Top Picks-A book/books recommended to you based on books you have previously read

The All Souls trilogy by Deborah Harkness

discovery of witches trilogyI could have gone with a lot of different books for this one because I’ve had so many books recommended to me based on other books. The All Souls trilogy wasn’t recommended to me because of a specific book that I read but more just because of the types of books I read in general. They’re a mix of paranormal and historical fiction, full of romance between a witch and vampire and chock full of magic—which are all totally up my alley. I had three separate people tell me about these books before I picked them up and all of them told me that I would love them.

Recently Added-The last book you bought

The Alice Network by Kate Quinn

the alice network-kate quinn

This book came with a super high recommendation from my cousin. I was at her house when she was reading it and she couldn’t put it down, she kept talking about how I needed to read it so when I saw it at Costco for only $11, I knew I had to grab it.

 

 

Popular on Netflix-Books that everyone knows about

(2 you’ve read and 2 you have no interest in)

Let’s start with the two popular books/series that I’ve read:

Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling

harry potter and the chamber of secrets

 

Everyone knows about this series, even if you haven’t read it, you’ve probably watched the movies. If you haven’t, you definitely still know of the series. This is definitely for a good reason, this series is fantastic and it took the world by storm.

 

 

The Illuminae Chronicles by Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman

illuminae-jay kristoff&amy kaufman.jpg

 

This series is another series that is taking the book world by storm. I’ve read all three books in this trilogy and I have to admit that I think this might be my favourite trilogy ever. Its written in such a unique way and it’s full of loveable characters, action, humor and plenty of twists and turns.

 

 

Onto the one(I only picked one book)popular book I wont read:

Fifty Shades series by E.L. James

fifty shades of grey

I try not to say never when it comes to reading books because realistically, who knows what I’ll want to red five years from now. However I feel incredibly confident in saying that I won’t ever pick this series up. Not only is it part of a genre that I never reach for, but I also am not a fan of the way  certain things are portrayed in these novels through what I’ve seen online.

 

Comedies-A funny book

Percy Jackson series by Rick Riordan

percy jackson

I feel like you all saw this answer coming, didn’t you?! I can’t help it, this series is so funny. All of Riordan’s books could work as an answer for this prompt because he is the King of writing lovable characters. There is so much action and humor in all of his books and I can’t recommend them enough.

 

 

Dramas-A character who is a drama queen/king

America from The Selection series by Kiera Cass

the selection

 

Oh my god America is so dramatic, she blows so much out of proportion and it’s so annoying sometimes. I don’t really have too much to say about it other than that though.

 

 

 

Animated-A book with cartoons on the cover

The Sculptor by Scott McCloud

the sculptor-scott mccloud

 

This book is a massive graphic novel so it makes sense that it would have cartoon characters on the covers. I don’t hear many people talking about this novel but I would highly recommend it. It took an entirely different turn than I was expecting and I loved it.

 

 

 

Watch It Again-A book/series that you want to reread

A Song of Ice and Fire series by George R.R Martin

a game of thrones-george r r martin

All of the books in this series are extremely long and so much happens in them that I feel like you could read them each 10 times and still miss things. I’ve been wanting to do a reread of the series for a long time—I originally wanted to reread them for the release of Winds of Winter but lets be real, that book is never coming out—so I’m thinking maybe a reread sometime next year.

 

Documentaries-A nonfiction book that you would recommend to everyone

Brain on Fire: My Month of Madness by Susannah Cahalan

brain on fire-susannah cahalanThis book is so interesting and terrifying, I genuinely think everyone should read it. In it we follow Susannah as she recounts her time before, during and after her stay in a hospital for an unknown issue that is causing seizures, paranoia and a whole bunch of other issues. This book is a true page turner, you just need to know what happens and what she ends up being diagnosed with. It’s a hard hitting read which will make you question and realize how fragile the human body is.

 

 

Action and Adventure-An action packed book

Gemina(The Illuminae Files 02) by Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman

gemina

 

This is the second book in this series so I don’t want to talk about plot because I don’t want to spoil anything for anyone who hasn’t read it yet. I’ll just say that it is full of action and suspense, you will be on the edge of your seat the entire time.

 

 

New Releases-A book that just came out, or will be coming out soon, that you can’t wait to read

Children of Blood and Bone by Tomi Adeyemi

children of blood and bone-toni adeyemi

 

 

I haven’t read this one yet so I don’t know a whole lot about it but I know so many people have read and absolutely loved this book. I can’t wait to get my hands on it!

 

 

 

That’s it for me today, I would love if you let me know of a new(er) release that you’re very excited to get to!

 

Leave a comment